Grey Sister (Book of the Ancestor #2) by Mark Lawrence

Grey Sister

Series : Book of the Ancestor

Publisher : Harper Voyager

Source :  Publisher

Release Date : April 3rd 2018


In Mystic Class Nona Grey begins to learn the secrets of the universe. But so often even the deepest truths just make our choices harder. Before she leaves the Convent of Sweet Mercy Nona must choose her path and take the red of a Martial Sister, the grey of a Sister of Discretion, the blue of a Mystic Sister or the simple black of a Bride of the Ancestor and a life of prayer and service.

All that stands between her and these choices are the pride of a thwarted assassin, the ambition of a would-be empress wielding the Inquisition like a blade, and the vengeance of the empire’s richest lord.

As the world narrows around her, and her enemies attack her through the system she has sworn to, Nona must find her own path despite the competing pull of friendship, revenge, ambition, and loyalty.

And in all this only one thing is certain.
There will be blood.

Tash M

This review first appeared in Aurealis #110 Australian science fiction and fantasy magazine,

Grey Sister is the highly-charged sequel to Red Sister that won’t disappoint readers. 

Mark Lawrence returns to the story of Nona Grey, a novice with remarkable skills, throwing readers back into the world two years later as Nona tackles the challenging path of becoming a religious assassin nun. Grey Sister explores the challenges of being a young woman whose path is twisted and complex to say the least. Nona is an exceptional character who doesn’t stop throwing surprises. She isn’t done learning and is still on the journey of discovery that readers were introduced to in the first book. However, now there are a lot more expectations.


Whilst the first novel was exceptional in its own right, this novel focuses more on the journey instead of throwing information left, right, and centre. It allows readers to get more of a feel for key supporting characters and understand the changes that have taken place with the time jump. Lawrence does an excellent job of bridging the gap and doesn’t miss a beat. No stone is unturned and readers won’t be able to steal a break. This book is full steam ahead with boundless adventures and drama unfolding, as these nuns aren’t going to let sleeping dogs lie. With a heavy female-based cast, this series takes a different tone from the one readers have come to expect from Lawrence. Nevertheless, the style Lawrence is known for is there, and it provides a blend of the old and the new together in a breathtaking second book. 





You may also like

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge